Four Noble Truths- Buddha

The Four Noble Truths that the Buddha declares are quite straight forward. The first noble truth is that to live is to suffer (454.2). In other words, we can not live our lives without suffering. The second noble truth is that suffering derives from what our senses- sight, hearing, taste, smell,touch, and mind- seek for (454.3). The third noble truth is that the declining or the end of suffering can actually be reached or accomplished (456.1). As in it is possible. Finally, the possibility to accomplish the cessation of suffering is described through the fourth noble truth. Which can also be seen as the eightfold path. The path that guides us to the cessation of suffering (456.2).

Personally, what I get out of the Buddha’s Four Noble Truths, is that throughout out lives, which includes suffering, there must be balance. This balance is best described by the eightfold path. Also, when Buddha explains in the fourth noble truth how one should not have an excessive amount of pleasure in their journey and not have excessive denial of pleasure either. From this, I get a 50/50 perspective. Basically, I see balance. In many ways I agree with the Buddha’s four noble truths. The first three noble truths are truths that we, as human beings, must acknowledge. Not only acknowledge them, but know that they are indeed true. The fourth noble truth, is the truth that I believe is left in the hands of the beholder. The eightfold path is in between ideal and reasonable. Yet, in today’s society, only many know excessive pleasure or excessive denial of it. The balance for this life, according to the Buddha, is attainable. And with this balance, also comes the end of suffering. In today’s society it may seem impossible. Yet, like the Buddha, I believe that there is a certain balance we should all maintain. Too bad not everyone sees the same picture.

To add on to this post after our discussion in class. I understand more the message the Buddha was directing at us. Yes, to exist is to suffer. I agree 100 percent with that. What really amazes me though after we analyzed all the four noble truths is how every single thing we do is suffering. It kind of relates to how every little action or motion we make has a consequence, bad or good. Even our senses can cause us to suffer. I thought how he explained that was kind of crazy. Overall, I like the concept of the four noble truths and the eight fold path. Yet, I am human, so the eight fold path is somewhat flexible to me.

About jenniferp95

Hey guys! My name is Jennifer Palomino. I am currently a freshman at John Jay College of Criminal Justice. My current major is Forensic Psychology. I don’t know if that is the major that I want to pursue my career in but I’m just trying it out. Honestly, I do not know what I want to do with my life yet after John Jay. I am a go-with-the-flow-type of person but that doesn’t mean that I don’t have my certain opinions. I love to read and write. I am currently boxing and I absolutely love it. Hopefully, I’ll start fighting soon and I may come into class with a few scratches. You can reach me at jennifer.palomino@jjay.cuny.edu. Don’t hesitate to chat with me, I don’t bite and I’m actually a very friendly person :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Four Noble Truths- Buddha

  1. jenypherx says:

    Just like you, I was in shock at learning that every little thing we do can make us suffer. Our senses could make us suffer and I think its crazy because its true! In the mornings if i don’t have my coffee – which is my desire and my craving, I suffer throughout out the day. Im not awake,I’m not happy because I’m tired and cranky. Maybe if i didnt feel the need to want it or have it i wouldn’t feel out of place when i don’t have my coffee.

  2. Im so happy to see someone who agrees that the buddhist way can actually work but, not in our society. I just think that we focus to much on the “i” that the “we” because its emphasized so much in our education systems. For example, its proven that self esteem isn’t connected with good grades….yet teachers do their best to make students feel accomplished. Therefore, we can never accept the suffering that the buddha is talking about.

  3. Your point about being human is so true. As humans, we interpret things to our own liking and we make everything a flexibility in our favor. I also agree that in todays society it is almost impossible to achieve that balance the Buddha suggests.

Leave a comment